Zwilling Knife Angles and Sharpening Advice

Joined Nov 2, 2016
Hey there, 

I'm a newbie around here and have just bought a few nicer knives for the first time.  I picked up a Zwilling Pro S 8 inch Chef's Knife and a Zwilling Four Star 7 inch Santoku knife for home use.  I've just gotten into cooking more and thought these would be a good place to start, especially since I got them on a good deal.

My question is for honing and sharpening - after talking with the guy at the store and doing some research online, Zwilling recommends to hone and sharpen the Chef's knife to 15 degrees and the Santoku to 10 degrees.  Would you guys recommend to also sharpen the Santoku to 10 degrees or is this a bit too much for this type of steel (i.e. would it not hold an edge for long).  Also, along the same lines, has anyone used and can recommend a manual or electric sharpener?  I've read up quite a bit on Chef's Choice models but am wondering if it's more worthwhile to learn the techniques on a whetstone.

Thanks!

Joined Aug 6, 2015
I don't know what pull through or electric is going to set you a 10 degree angle. It'll fold over pretty fast on that German steel

You're probably going to need for find an 'Asian angle' sharpener for 15 degrees. Not that I know much more than that about the tabletop devices - I have used exclusively waterstones for the past year and a half

Joined Apr 25, 2014
There's nothing Japanese about your santoku,   The grind and the metal are very german.  I would sharpen it to 20+ degrees per side.

Joined Dec 18, 2010
Those 10 and 15 degrees per side are just marketing humbug. No way their Krupp 4116 will ever hold such an edge when actually used for food preparation on a board.
Until a few years ago Wüsthof and Zwilling / Henckels used to deliver with convexed edges ending at some 20 degrees per side. Perfectly appropriate, but a bit more work than a straight edge. And as they are rather fat behind the edge it doesn't feel very sharp.