Your first job?

Discussion in 'The Late Night Cafe (off-topic)' started by nicko, Jul 31, 2002.

1. nicko

nicko Founder of Cheftalk.com Staff Member

Exp:
    Former Chef
    Thought it would be fun to hear from everyone what was your very first job you ever held?

Me?

I was a busboy at my Aunt and Uncles Italian restaurant Barones.

2. jim berman

jim berman

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    When I was 6, I worked in my dad's scrap metal yard. I would sort aluminum and tin. Then I graduated up to sorting #1 and #2 copper and I was allowed to try chewing tobacco. I had to wait until I was 8 to use the 2-ton metal sheers. Amazing I actually survived childhood.

3. shimmer

shimmer

The first job I had was teaching piano lessons. I would go to kids houses after school (still only a kids myself!) and their parents would pay me $10 every half hour to teach them how to play the piano. It never failed, I always got the overachiever students who would have been great if they had time to practice. One family had horses and all the kids were in dance AND ran the family farm in addition to taking piano lessons. It was crazy.

To this day, although I do many other piano-related jobs, I refuse to teach lessons. Too many bad experiences.

~~Shimmer~~

4. momoreg

momoreg

Exp:
    Professional Pastry Chef
    Sounds like a fun thread so far...

I was an Avon lady from age 14 through high school. I made a consistent salary doing that, with very little work. After all, with 100 girls in my grade, there was always someone looking for cosmetics. I simultaneously worked in a home for elderly women, cooking, serving, and cleaning. The food was pretty basic: Tuna salad, for lunch, and cake cubes or jello for dessert. It became a bit depressing when I realized how quick the turnover was. It seemed every time I got to know one of the ladies, she'd pass on. So I got a job cooking at Roy Rogers. Much better.:chef: ;) :D

5. chrose

chrose

Exp:
    Professional Chef