Wusthof Pro vs. Mercer Cutlery

Joined Mar 28, 2014
My school only sells one knife set, a Mercer Cutlery set. 

http://bookstore.santarosa.edu/sant...ries&CatID=6799&Name=Accessories#.U155r_lkSSo

I have no knowledge of Mercer so I'm not sure of how good they are. I am able to put together my own set and I own a few Wusthof Classics and Gourmet, and some J.A. Henckles knives and I like the Wusthofs that I have. My question is how is the Pro series, in particular the 7-piece Pro knife roll set. The prices are slightly different, The Mercers are $115 and the Wusthofs are $159 but not different enough to decide based on cost. I'd like to know what you guys and gals think.

Joined Apr 29, 2013
Why don´t you stay with your Wusts Classics and gourmets and save this money for a highend knives? Or maybe just buy one and, like us, start to get addicted to it.../img/vbsmilies/smilies/biggrin.gif

Take a look at K Sabatiers, also. Everyone should try them at least once.

Joined Mar 28, 2014
The Wüsthof classics are a tomato knife and a large 10" carving knife and the gourmets are steak knives. That's why I'm not using them. I'll take a look at K Sabatiers. Thanks for the advise. [emoji]128515[/emoji]

Joined Apr 29, 2013
Just remember that if you have really restricted budget, do not sabe in The chef's knife/gyuto. This it The most important and versatile knife you will have. For The others you can go with victorinox forshner, and you wi have a good set.

Joined Mar 28, 2014
Ok so really high quality chefs knife/gyuto is a must then having good quality knives round out the set is fine as long as the chefs knife is great. I think that I'll start looking around for a great chefs knife then just get the victorinox or mercer. That makes a lot of sense, thanks once again for the advise.

Joined Sep 27, 2019
My school only sells one knife set, a Mercer Cutlery set.

http://bookstore.santarosa.edu/sant...ries&CatID=6799&Name=Accessories#.U155r_lkSSo