Wusthof 2933 vs Trizor XV?

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by Sue Flay, Jan 13, 2018.

1. Sue Flay

Sue Flay

Exp:
    Cook at Home
    Hi everyone,

The more research I do the more undecided I become. I'm a home cook upgrading my knives. Sharpening my knives will not be a new hobby, I don't require the absolute sharpest edge possible. I just want a convenient way to maintain and occasionally sharpen them for a home cook's use. I've narrowed down to the Chef's Choice Trizor XV and Wusthof 2933 PEtec electric sharpeners (also made by Edgecraft - Chef's Choice). I do not plan to obtain any 20-degree "classic" knives. I know the Trizor sharpens to a convex 15-degree angle and the Wusthof a 14-degree "PEtec" angle.

I cannot decide which model would best suit my needs. I don't think the Wusthof Santoku is suited for either, however the MAC Santoku angle is only 1 degree difference (not sure about the profile).

I am leaning towards the Wusthof sharpener as it matches my Ikon Chef, and then re-profile the Vic and MAC Santoku. I was hoping for some advice from experts n this forum.

My current knives:
    Victorinox Fibrox pro 8-inch Chef (15-degree factory angle)
    Wusthof Ikon 8-inch Chef with Grantons (14-degree PEtec angle)
    Mercer Culinary Millennia 10-Inch Wide Serrated Bread Knife

Future Knives:
    Santoku (possibly a MAC MSK-65 - 15degree angle or Wusthof Ikon 7-inch with Grantons - 10 degree angle)
    Pairing
    Utility
    Boning

Thanks in advance for any advice.

2. Pat Pat

Pat Pat

Exp:
    Chef Emeritus
    I have both. They are virtually the same. I know that the specification stated a 1° difference, but I really couldn't tell.

Just get whichever one you can find for cheaper.

By the way, what benuser said is true, but since these sharpeners give your knife a triple bevel edge, the detrimental effect is less noticeable. I've used them on my knives for over ten years with satisfying results.

Last edited: Jan 14, 2018
  3. rick alan