Chef Forum banner

Writing A Cookbook

802 views 4 replies 5 participants last post by  foodnfoto 
#1 ·
Hi Everybody!

Im new to this so please excuse any mistakes I make.

I'm currently in the process of writing a cookbook for university/college students. It's my first cookbook ever written and I don't know much about how food is at colleges. If any has any tips about what foods are more popular or information about ccooking in colleges. Also, if you had any tips about what foods are more popular. 

Thanks very much! Much appreciated 

#2 · (Edited)
I have heard on occasion that pizza, as well as certain carbonated fermented beverages are extremely popular on college campuses. Also asian cuisine, which for college blokes that are somewhat financially strapped includes a type of asian noodle dish with a savory flavor packet that is referred to as "ramen". /img/vbsmilies/smilies/biggrin.gif

#4 ·
Before you even attempt this venture, I would learn about college students and campuses and their likes and dislikes, what they eat(beside Ramen noodles) uppity college habits as adversed to lower. Affluence of most students at the schools. etc. I would say at least 6 to 7 monthes of solid research. I wrote a book on fostering kittens and cats, it took me about 1 1/4 years of solid research and observation before I even started, then about 5 monthes to corolate and put together. But good luck anyhow.

#5 ·
Did I miss something?

Have you benn contracted to write this cookbook and are just now doing your research?

Why are you writing a cookbook about a subject you are not familiar with?

If you ever hope to get an agent to work out an agreement with a publisher, you must submit a query that represents your idea, your qualifications, a sample chapter, table of contents and sample recipes.