1. culinarian247

culinarian247

I have come to a eye-opening truth about myself; I am not good at Garde Manger. All of my other culinary related courses I do real good in. Saucier, supposedly the toughest class in our curriculum, I am kickin' butt in. Why can't I pull it together for Garde Manger? I get to the class and I turn into Forrest Gump. I need to pass this class and I am falling flat on the ol' face. I wish I could get tutoring like the general ed classes but it's not possible. My only comfort comes fom knowing that on May 15th the pain will be over. The semester ends. Is there anything I can do that will help me pass this class?

2. kokopuffs

kokopuffs

Exp:
    Home Cook
    I'm in my late 40's and am coming to grips with my own mortality. I cannot do everything and am learning to be satisfied with what I know without being complacent. :chef:

3. kuan

kuan Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    Retired Chef
    Well life is not really like a box of chocolates, if it is, you're in the wrong class! You gotta love lettuce to do good at Garde Manger. :) I kid, but I also don't. Garde Manger is the least respected of all departments (think salad girl) but one of the most difficult of all jobs. Find your respect for the position and see what happens.

So what's bugging you about this class?

Kuan

4. suzanne

suzanne

Exp:
    Food Editor
    Are you talking about making those inedible aspic-armored buffet fantasies that you only see now at competitions? Turning apples into swans, gourds into vases, and jicama into bunnies? Ice carving? That's what I'm assuming, since I doubt you would have any trouble with the cooking part of a regular restaurant GM station (plating salads, cold apps, and desserts; making vinaigrettes and other cold sauces; etc.)