Why toss beef chunks with flour AFTER browning and then brown again in the oven?

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by homecook61, Oct 6, 2010.

1. homecook61

homecook61

Exp:
    At home cook
    Hi, newbie here both to this forum and to learning how to cook.

I was wondering, in Julia Child's Beef Bourguignon recipe, she says to brown the beef first in the oil and pork fat, and THEN season and flour and then roast the chunks of beef in the oven at 450 degrees. 

I'm curious about the reasons why this is done in this order, as opposed to, say, tossing the beef in seasoning and flour and then frying.

I figured people here would be able to enlighten me.  Thank you for any help you can give!  /img/vbsmilies/smilies//smile.gif     

2. petemccracken

petemccracken

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    If you look again, the recipe only calls for the floured bacon/beef/vegetables to be in the hot oven for 4 minutes, that is NOT to brown but simply "cook out" the flour taste. Notice that after 4 minutes, the oven is turned down to 325°F and the braising liquids are added.

The actual browning/searing is done PRIOR to adding the flour. IMHO, this technique actually is creating a "flavored roux"                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         

homecook61 likes this.
  3. homecook61

homecook61

Exp:
    At home cook