Why is so hard to cook?

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by lkscorrea, Oct 7, 2014.

1. lkscorrea

lkscorrea

Exp:
    Can't boil water
    Hi there! I am a product design student, and I am trying to understand what people think that is hard to do in the kitchen and why. Is cooking something hard to you? Or you think is easy, fun? why? Do you like cooking or dont?

2. brianshaw

brianshaw

Exp:
    Former Chef
    Cooking is not hard if one is interested in cooking and motivated to learn.  Most who are interested and motivated find cooking fun.  Why, because it allows the exercise of creativity and the transformation of raw stuff into tasty and edible items.  It is a good way to keep from starving.  And some items are just a gratuitious and delightful taste sensation.  We all deserve a treat every now and again.

What I find difficult is finding time to cook (busy, busy schedule) and controlling weight gain.  Flatulance is not a problem for me but I know of others who have that difficulty with some foods they cook.  Wasting food is also a difficulty.  Waste not, want not... yet there are always odd amounts of miscelaneous leftovers that may not get eaten and need to be discarded.  Spice storage is also a challenge.  Spices come in too many different packaging options.  Frustrating.

But in general cooking is not so hard.

What does your product design professor think of your survey questions and grammar?  This certainly is a laxidasical way of gathering data.

3. lkscorrea

lkscorrea

Exp:
    Can't boil water