Why is my hummus not perfect.

Joined Jul 30, 2020
Okay, first things first.

This is my first post here and I'm no professional chef. In fact, my occupation is the furthest thing from anything culinary (I run an auto accessory shop). But I love cooking, watching new recipe videos and trying out new things, and in most cases, they do turn out to be quite delicious.

But it's been about 2 months and 6 unsuccessful attempts of making hummus and I still can't my head around the fact that I'm not able to ace it. I tried everything. Lemon juice, Soaking overnight + Boiling, Using ICE, a bit of sugar, peel off the skins from the chickpeas. All of it. But I couldn't nail it.

I watched a video of Chef John cooking it and I watched a few youtube videos of a middle eastern cooking show host share some tips. That's just about it. Here are the links Link1, Link2, I followed all of the tips but somehow, it simply isn't as good as the one I order.

Any of you guys have any suggestions?

Joined Sep 17, 2018
I just always used canned chick peas with a little of the brine, some seasoning, oil of your choosing and tahini pulsed in a food processor. Always came out fine for me, could you specify more what the problem is?

Joined Aug 15, 2003
You need to say what’s wrong with yours before we can do much to help you.

It’s a bit odd you’re having so much trouble. Hummus is one of those things that is very easy to make and one of those dishes that the difference between homemade and commercial is obvious.

If you’re cooking your own chickpeas, adding a touch of baking soda to the cooking liquid will make them very soft so they blend better (no graininess), and that can improve the texture.

If your hummus simply lacks flavor or depth it’s most likely a seasoning issue, and you could try more garlic, lemon juice, olive oil, tahini, etc

Joined Jul 13, 2012
There is no such thing as "Perfection". There's only "adjustments" and "compromise" to get what you're after.

Joined Sep 5, 2008