Why do kitchen managers no care about your previous restaurant management experience?

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by christina rigby, Dec 25, 2016.

1. christina rigby

christina rigby

Exp:
    Restaurant Manager
    Currently, I am in my final semester of Culinary School. However, I have limited fine dining kitchen experience outside of the lab. My prior work experience consisted of working my way up the ladder to general store manager of a pizza restaurant. I joined the military after 9-11 and then went back to the pizza industry to market new items and help with logistics in delivering the product faster. After my associate degree and half-way through my bachelors the opportunity to attend was presented. I jumped on it. After completing my internship as a personal chef I worked in a fine dining kitchen as a dishwasher and the only thing I learned was what dishes not to buy and how much food was not being eaten. I only got the job because a classmate worked there and didn't want to work there anymore. All the jobs I apply for never call back or say they are looking for a chef. What am I doing wrong. I walk in they tell me to go online. I walk in they don't want a resume they want a reference. I apply and it ends in false hope. Any advice would be appreciated. I graduate in May and have an unlimited supply of time for work. 

2. sarcasticone

sarcasticone

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    My advice to you would be to get a CV (resume) made.  Highlight your experience in catering and play down the areas which you feel are letting you down .

If you want work in the fine dining sector, I suggest that  experience in a pizza shop probably doesn't help.

Be truthful but be creative.

3. flipflopgirl

flipflopgirl

Exp:
    Retired Hospitality
    How far from your school are these kitchens located?

Could be that these guys are seeing a dozen students a week and are tired of training someone only to have them graduate and move home.