Who am I looking for??

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by b_b, Dec 13, 2009.

1. b_b

b_b

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    I am a photographer and have a project that requires some food photography.

I am looking for somebody to prepare specific recipes to be photographed.

Should I be looking for a Chef or a food stylist or both? Is this something that requires a high level of skill or could a keen 'beginner' handle this. (I have a tight budget!)

Also could anybody suggest were the best place to look for this person would be.

Thank you so much for your time.

Barry

2. suzanne

suzanne

Exp:
    Food Editor
    Not knowing what is involved with your project, I can't tell you what skill level you need. You can only determine that when you talk with a food stylist, which is the person you want, and explain the project. You probably do NOT want an amateur who has just likes to cook but has never worked with a photographer before.

Depending on where you are located, there might be a local group, since many food stylists work as freelancers. I'm a member of a local NYC food organization that has several food stylists as members; contact me if you're here and would like some recommendations.

For an international (US mostly, but all over the world) organization, try contacting the International Association of Culinary Professionals; they have a section for food photographers and food stylists and might have a food stylist member near you.

You might also contact local newspapers and magazines that publish food photos; either they have staff who might be able to moonlight, or they could tell you whom they use.

Hope this helps.

3. petemccracken

petemccracken

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    It might help knowing where you are located?

4. b_b

b_b

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    I am in Connecticut, not too far from NY.

5. happyfood

happyfood

Exp:
    Owner/Operator