Where is a good place to move after school?

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by ejdutcher, Feb 8, 2011.

1. ejdutcher

ejdutcher

Exp:
    Culinary Student
    I am currently a high school/culinary school student (concurrent enrollment) in Utah; I was wondering what would be one of the smartest cities to move to if I am going into fine dining. I am currently looking at Seattle (mostly because I love it there, but I am afraid that that is not the best move for a culinary carrier). Would LA be one of the best choices for me? Should I even stay in the country? (I am currently on my second year of Japanese and am going on a trip their next march). Right now all I know is that need to get out of Utah and somewhere where food really matters (especially in a fine dining experience). I am trying to make the most of where I live, but I still think that it is not enough.

Thank you

-E.J.Dutcher

2. chefedb

chefedb

Exp:
    Retired Chef
    Move in with mom and dad save $

3. jtobin625

jtobin625

Exp:
    Other
    All cities will have fine dining. Some will have fine dining better than others. Seattle, from what I have heard, can be a lot of fun (this is not coming from a cooks perspective) and if you want to go, then give it a shot. 

The great thing about the food industry is the ability to just go anywhere (as long as you aren't buried in debt).

4. chefbillyb

chefbillyb

Exp:
    Professional Chef