When, how, and If i should go to culinary school

Discussion in 'Choosing A Culinary School' started by atatax, Aug 11, 2015.

1. atatax

atatax

Exp:
    Line Cook
    So, i'm 28, american, ,i've been a line cook for about 2 years, worked at a gastro pub for most of it, but currently have been working a seasonal fine dining job since may. The fine dining job should probably last another two months. So i'm thinking what to do next. I'm the only cook at the fine dining restaurant that hasn't gone to culinary school, so i'm a little skeptical about the need, because i'm already doing the same job. And yeah, they're a bit more knowledgeable, but i'm also only been a cook for 2 years. I'm afraid that if i go to culinary school, i acquire a bunch of debt, learn a little, then make like 1 or $2 more an hour. Especially because i hear a lot of culinary school is very remedial. 

Am I really handicapping my future in the industry if i don't go to culinary school?

If you think I should go to culinary school, is this a good time in my career? I know you're supposed to get some experience before going to school, but how much is ideal? My understanding is many schools have long waiting lists, should i apply now expecting to get in, in several years?

What should i take into account in choosing a school? Is there a good resource to see the strengths of different schools? Barring applying to some super high profile restaurant or moving to like New York, is it likely to matter to an employer which school i choose?

What do schools want to see in applicants? What would make me most likely to get into the school i want? 

2. grande

grande

Exp:
    Sous Chef