Whats your favorite station???

Joined Oct 13, 2001
What is your favorite position in the kitchen ? Wheel man , broiler,
saute , appetizers , pantry or perhaps off the line as a pastry chef
or a dinner cook . I must admit that in all my years as a line chef I was most happy working saute . The ability to create wonderfull dishes in one single pan time after time was thrilling . The busyer
the night the better. What an adrenaline rush . Oh yes my next favorite is breakfast at the egg station . Yeah I guess I am a little off in the head but I like it busy and I like it fast . How about you? :lips:

pete

Staff member
Joined Oct 7, 2001
Working the grill station at places that have a wood-fired grill. There is something that touches the primative side of you.

Joined Oct 28, 1999
I have to agree about working saute! The fire, the smells, the fast pace... the taste of a night well-done. There is nothing more exhilirating that have your mis en place tweaked out and ready to go. I say "Bring it on!"

Garde Manger is a great position to learn about kitchen operations, but lacks a bit of 'gusto'. A good position, nonetheless.

Joined Nov 20, 2000
Ahh the stations. I did them all and have burned corneas to show for my time at the fry cook station when a clam exploded in my eye. Still I have to agree that nothing gets you in a rythym like saute. But I still think the most difficult at times was expiditer. Now thats an orchestration. The one I hated the most has to be personnel. Hiring, firing, training and replacing. Echhh.
Give me pastries anyday.

Joined Dec 12, 2000
Garde Manger, Sauces and Pastries. right now I'm complete short order, with a california menu, and sometimes I even have to do prep and short order simultaneously.

Joined Nov 29, 2001