Whats more difficult for you; baking or cooking?

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by headless chicken, Sep 29, 2004.

You more of a baker or a cook?

Poll closed Oct 29, 2004.
  1. Gimme a frying pan any day of the week...I'm a cook

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Gimme a mixer any day of the week...I'm a baker

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. ppffft...both the same to me

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. headless chicken

headless chicken

Exp:
    Line Cook
    I've found a lot of people in my college are quite divided between the 2, neither more to cooking or to baking. Some, like myself, know a bit of both but swing more to either end. I think of myself more of a baker then a cook.

2. mikeb

mikeb

Exp:
    Professional Pastry Chef
    I'm not huge on sweets, breads, etc..., and hardly ever (if ever at all) bake. So I definitely fit into the 'cook' category. I'm definitely alot more comfortable cooking than baking, although the few times I've tried baking the results were decent.

3. kuan

kuan Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    Retired Chef
    Cooks are bakers who can't do arithmetic :D :D

4. mezzaluna

mezzaluna

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    :lol: :lol: :lol: You got it, Kuan! I can spell and cook, but I can't bake or do math. :bounce:

5. salvatore

salvatore

I'm a pastry chef, always have been and always will be i suppose. Funny thing is, i cant cook to save me life (case in point, Mac & Cheese with cut up hot dogs is my cooking masterpiece :eek: )

6. nick.shu

nick.shu

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    lemme at it! - i have my favourites, and i cant do maths all that well. But i also like to bake and cook. Currently, im working on a hourly basis and learning quite fast to be flexible as i get as little as 1/2 hour notice as to where i have to work the next day. In the last 3 weeks i have worked at least 14 different sites with differing menus from industrial canteens to 6 course meals for 220 pax.

go the challenge - Per ardua ad astra.

7. panini

panini

Exp: