what to expect when doing first "fine dinning" trail in NYC

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by elliot782, Oct 23, 2017.

1. elliot782

elliot782

Exp:
    Other
    I am a line cook working in new jersey. i was originally a dishwasher and now i have been cooking for about 7 months now. i have progressed really well and i feel very confident in my abilities at my current place. i work garmo (salad), fryer, and iv'e done a little bit of the Entremetier station too.

i want to move to nyc and work in the city. i'm hungry to work my way up. i want to be a chef some day, i simply want to make amazing food. im currently thinking of applying to some good restaurants in the city the only thing is a lot of them ask for "1 year of fine dinning experience" though i feel like if i talked to them and showed them i want to learn and i can learn fast they would give me a shot. what kind of tests might a chef put me through when i come into trail? what should i expect? what should i focus on to show him that i can hold things down if he hires me? I feel pretty confident in working fast and being able to handle being in the weeds but i am just a bit worried that my raw skills wont be enough to have the food at a high enough level.
    thank you, any advice would be appreciated.

2. chefwriter

chefwriter

Exp:
    Professional Cook
    I think one year of fine dining experience could be translated as one year of keeping your mouth shut, working very hard while doing what you are told, Exactly how you are told, over and over again. Fine dining is very precise work, no variations from the chef's vision are allowed. When you are told you did it wrong, you don't argue, you do it over.
    If you can demonstrate that you can take the heat, you should be fine.

3. chefross

chefross

Exp:
    Former Chef
    In addition may I add also that upscale dining Chefs will be looking at you.
    Your knife skills, your hygiene, your organizational habits will be on display.