What size skillet?

Joined Sep 14, 2014
I'm a home cook and I cook for two unless Holidays or Birthdays are involved. The skillet that needs replacing is a non-stick 10" Tramontina Pro 3004. I have been very pleased with this pan for several years but the finish has just started to deteriorate. I plan to replace this pan with an 8" version of same (unless there are better alternatives), as the non-stick is primarily used for omelets and fried eggs, and get a multiply stainless steel skillet. Since I am really impressed with my Made-In 12" sauté pan, I will likely go that brand or perhaps Demeyer as I own a saucier from this company which is fantastic. Currently, I cook a lot of food in a 10" cast iron skillet and a carbon steel Wok. The Made-In sauté pan is very useful but "I" can't use it as a skillet like many seem to be able to (tossing food). Long story short, what size skillet would be more useful for the number of people I cook for....10" or 12"? I have your typical cheapie 4 burner home stove if that helps with suggestions.

Joined Mar 1, 2017
The size pan is not really determined by the number of people you cook for. Instead, its determined by the ingredients, the cooking method and the desired end result.

For example, if you're searing proteins, the general rule is that you would want a larger pan to prevent overcrowding which can hinder the searing process.

A larger pan is also generally good for pan sauces, especially those that are reduction based. A larger pan has more surface area which means faster reduction times.

In your case, however, given the fact that you're mostly cook for two people, either the 10" or 12" pan will do just fine as a replacement for your 10" pan. However, I don't see the advantage in replacing a 10" pan with an 8" pan, as you suggested.

Good luck. :)

Joined Sep 14, 2014