What is your professional and personal opinion on mass producing and freezing.

Joined Apr 11, 2013
So I have been working at a new restaurant for a few months now. It´s a fairy large crew (30+ employees) and I have noticed that the menu is pretty large and the amount of products being made is also quite large. The restaurant rarely ever is out of stock on anything, we rarely run out of a certain ingrediente or food item.
But i also have noticed that the people that work in our production kitchen produce a lot and freeze a lot.
There are some items that rarely leave the kitchen, that are rarely ordered, and don´t quite sell as much, but it´s there frozen, ready to go at any time, when ordered of course.

So what is your opinion on producing large quantities of food and having it frozen. Even if it´s respecting expirtation dates, I think to myself it´s still a waste of time, space, maybe money, as well as an employee could be doing something else that could be more helpful and beneficial. I don´t know, I have mixed views on the topic.

I´m not against freezing, but I do think it´s possible to go overboard on producing and freezing things (food items) in a restaurant, especially to never risk running out of something on a menu even if it´s for a night.

Joined Dec 23, 2004
I'll cautiously come down in favor it freezing. Naturally it depends on what it is, etc. but I like to make stuff like wontons in good sized batches and freeze them, just thaw a small amount for service.

Joined Jan 4, 2018
There are some items that rarely leave the kitchen, that are rarely ordered, and don´t quite sell as much, but it´s there frozen, ready to go at any time, when ordered of course.