What is a better purchase than Zwilling or Shun?

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by TheSon, Feb 9, 2019.

1. TheSon

TheSon

Exp:
    Home
    Hello all. I am not a professional chef and would like help selecting a really good line of knives to enjoy in my kitchen. I have used the same chef's knife and paring knife for a really long time - Chicago Cutlery's Walmart-level 1H12D. I have decided I want some really good knives now and am not sure what questions I need to answer to help determine which to get.

Internet shopping, I fell in love with Zwilling Pro. I love the design and style of them, particularly how the bolster flows between the handle and blade.
    I went to Williams-Sonoma to handle chef's knives, but they only had Wusthof and Shun. The Z-Pro-comparable Wusthof IKON and Classic IKON has a REALLY heavy handle and was a noticeable workload for my hand, just holding it and moving it in the air.
    (I was able to find some Zwilling Pro elsewhere, and they are not like this and feel good.)
    Then I handled the Shun Kaji and Premier! WOW!!! It was like a part of my hand, and INCREDIBLY sharp. The Premier would be a beautiful addition to my kitchen, on my walnut knife magnet.
    I really liked them and almost bought them before researching and glad I waited.
    I have read that Shun knives are good knives, but priced higher than they are really worth and that the metal is lower-quality than others in the same range.
    Supposedly, other knives are much better for around the same price. I've looked on the internet for several weeks and can't figure out what brand to get.