What I would ask a chef... if I knew one.

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by garlicbreath, Nov 1, 2016.

1. garlicbreath

garlicbreath

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    I am an amateur cook at best, but food has always been a passion of mine. I am a student of industrial design (product design) and I am currently trying to get an idea of how I could enhance the cooking experience for your everyday American by encouraging more thoughtful time spent in the kitchen through a product or suite of products. 

Since I don't know many culinary enthusiasts/professionals, I thought I'd post a few questions here. Feel free to answer with as much or little detail as you'd like. If there's something I didn't ask about that you think may be helpful, I'm all ears!

Discussion questions:

- What would you say to people who have absolutely no interest in cooking to change their mind?

- If you have kids, is there anything you do with them to spark an interest in cooking?

- What would you say is the worst thing about American food culture?

- Is there anything that you think would improve American food culture/food consumption habits?

More about YOU:

- I hope it's safe to assume that you have certain rituals that you practice habitually in the kitchen. Are there any that would say are     unique to you?

- Do these rituals change when you move from your home kitchen to a professional setting or vice versa? How so?

Any relevant links or resources are also welcome! Thanks for reading, please share your thoughts!

2. eastshores

eastshores

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    I guess I'll be the first to bite.. even if this is for a marketing study.. which is seems to be.

- What would you say to people who have absolutely no interest in cooking to change their mind?