What foods would go good with a spring menu

Joined Apr 5, 2018
Hi chefs im new to this and got a job as a kitchen leader was wondering what foods would go good with a spring menu as entrees or apps its an upscale bar i work at

Joined Jan 17, 2015
Seasonal produce should feature heavily on every menu in my opinion. cabbages, mushrooms and squash should give way now to early asparagus, , radishes, jersey royals(UK), peas, spring lamb, wood pigeon, crab, place etc. Go to the market and see what is available. Spring is a bit tricky as veg is expensive until it comes in it's own but still whatever is in season will be plentiful and at good price eventually. After a few years you will get used to it and it would come naturally. You said it is an upscale place so you can get fancy stuff. Good luck with it!

Joined Oct 1, 2006
Hi there J Valdez,

Welcome to ChefTalk and I like your question.

The trick is "What is available to you, in your area, and for how long? Don't forget the how long part!

I still have snow on the ground, but first thing up will probably be chives around here. So the trick around here is how to feature chives. Chive oil, Tempura Chive sticks, etc.

That is the fun part of the profession!

OK J, what can you make with ______? It doesn't always have to fit the theme of the restaurant either. It is a seasonally available entree or app in your area.

Joined Jan 19, 2014
Hi chefs im new to this and got a job as a kitchen leader was wondering what foods would go good with a spring menu as entrees or apps its an upscale bar i work at

Stating your location will help us provide better advice. Spring in Texas is quite different than Spring in Minnesota.

Joined Apr 5, 2018
Im in houston... im still not upthere as far as knowledge on fancy dishes im in the process of learning still lookimg for something simple like ive seen strawberrys are in season so maybe strawberry salad....

pete

Staff member
Joined Oct 7, 2001