What are the first dishes a serious cooking enthusiast should study?

Joined Aug 24, 2018
Lets assume I know nothing about cooking, because I really don't think I do.

If you had to point me toward 5 classic (European or anything) dishes that every professional chef studies at the beginning of their culinary education, what would they be, why, and what are some of the reasons those are dishes are studied first?

Not necessarily asking what your favorites are, more or less asking what a total beginner needs to focus on to develop a repertoire of skills.

Thanks!

Joined Apr 3, 2008
First come basic things like knife skills, learning how to prep, knowing how to keep a prep area clean etc. If you're cutting raw meat and then tossing a salad without washing your hands then it doesn't matter how good either of your dishes are because those who eat it will be facing bigger problems.

A few simple dishes are very important starting points.
Eggs - learn how to make a proper omelet and you're golden.
Stock - A good stock can enhance many many dishes.
Roast chicken - The simplest thing in the world and there are many ways to do it.

From then on just build technique with each dish you attempt. You'll want to accrue skills in sauteeing, roasting, poaching, braising, sweating, grilling and frying. Rome didn't get built in a day so start and keep learning. The good news is that you'll be eating food the rest of your life so there is plenty of time to learn and perfect.

Joined Oct 9, 2008
(French) omelet aux fines herbes
Pure technique, very tricky to execute perfectly, utterly unforgiving

Roast chicken
Something you can tinker with your whole life and never perfect

Apart from that, it's a matter of choosing dishes that demand the execution of certain techniques. For example, a beautiful whole stuffed fish requires you to prepare a whole fish but leave it intact. A poached salmon with mayonnaise requires making perfect mayonnaise. And so on.