What are some well known Asian comfort foods?

Joined Oct 6, 2021
So, I'm a college student. Im trying to compile comfort foods from around asia. If you are Asian or are very familiar with the culture, I would love to know what you think some comfort foods are along with the countries.
Thanks a ton!

Joined Oct 31, 2012
I'm quite sure there are many cookbooks about this topic.. A trip to the local bookstore would be a good start.

kuan

Staff member
Joined Jun 11, 2001
Go to Malaysia and you get everything Indian, Chinese, Malay, and the fusion of all three. Everything is comfort food there.

My favorites: Hainanese Chicken Rice, Char Kuay Teow, Bak Kut Teh, Chilli crabs, Dosa, Roti Prata, Nasi Padang, Fish head curry.

I love dim sum. Morning dumplings, all kinds, off the street in Shanghai, off the street in any city in east Asia. I love the tea on the train in India.

I love the "big wok" Hong Kong style restaurants where the menu is memorized by the servers.

I love Chinese Deli food. Duck, duck this, duck that... duck and more duck. :)

I also do a lot of this at home.

How to fold pot stickers by Heidi:

Joined Oct 9, 2008
In Japan, some of the dominant comfort foods are:
Curry Rice
Omu-raisu (omelet rice)
Neapolitan Spaghetti (yuck)
Yosenabe
Oden
Okonomiyaki
Oyako-don
I'm here figuring that "comfort food" means things kids almost universally like, that adults like too, and that harried housewives bang out on a regular basis.

Joined Nov 5, 2007

A serious ramen broth, as well as the pork and the egg toppings, take some time. But the 5 for a dollar, or whatever they cost these days, instant packets can be easily doctored up with fresh veggies, maybe a bit of ground meat, and a little imagination.

Practice cooking rice.

mjb.

Joined Jun 7, 2021