West Coast?

Joined Oct 4, 2016
Hello Chefs, I'm a cook in Atlanta, Ga with 4 years experience. My resume is mostly fine dining with some solid names and my skills are good. I've held every position and I'm getting ready to leave a full time production pastry position to go back to the line.

The thing is, I'm really ready to leave Atlanta for the west coast and right now I'm looking at San Francisco.

Is there anyone who has worked or is currently working in San Francisco that wouldn't mind giving some advice? Also, I'm sure there are plenty of others that would like to see a thread on this.

Here's a few questions to kick things off:

Is there anything in particular these high profile Chefs are looking for? What would a viable candidate's resume look like? Or is it more about "who you know" rather than what you know?

Where do the cooks live? At the lower end of the totem pole with a lower income, where's the housing? I'm married with a 12 year old daughter so shared rooms aren't an option. (Former military, career changer)

What is the pay like for a line cook/commis/CdP in San Francisco?

Thanks in advance!

Joined Aug 21, 2004
Is there anything in particular these high profile Chefs are looking for? What would a viable candidate's resume look like? Or is it more about "who you know" rather than what you know?

They are looking period, there is a labor shortage.

Where do the cooks live? At the lower end of the totem pole with a lower income, where's the housing? I'm married with a 12 year old daughter so shared rooms aren't an option. (Former military, career changer)

$2,000 unfurnished studio in Tenderloin

$3500 unfurnished 1 bdrm in Tenderloin

parking can be a problem so keep in mind garage space rental $250

What is the pay like for a line cook/commis/CdP in San Francisco?

$16

Joined Feb 17, 2010
And to add, the tenderloin ain't where you want to be.