Wanted: Coach

Discussion in 'Professional Catering' started by mezzaluna, Oct 23, 2000.

1. mezzaluna

mezzaluna

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    Due to a scheduling snafu with our caterer, I may be elected to prepare a simple spaghetti dinner for about 60 people very soon. I'm a good home cook, but want to know if anyone is willing to give me pointers to help me do things efficiently and safely. (Coaching by e-mail is fine if you prefer to do this off-board). The menu includes spaghetti with a choice of 2 sauces (marinara and bolognese/meat), tossed salad and garlic bread. (Dessert will be pot luck.) My concerns center on safe prep of the meat for the sauce, pre-cooking and finishing the pasta so it's al dente at service, dealing with the garlic bread, and maybe a recipe suggestion for the sauces. I'll have one double oven (half convection, half conventional) and a standard, 4-burner flat cooktop. Some genius installed a Sub-Zero with 12" deep shelves at the site, so there's not a huge amount of fridge space. There is also a home-size microwave. I live nearby and can do some prep at home, but would rather do as much as possible on site. I did prepare spaghetti for 90 diners when I was in college, so it's not the first time.... but I'd like to know if it's doable for me or if I should tell them to find someone else or cancel the event. Here's a chance for someone to do a good deed, indeed! Thanks, everyone.

[This message has been edited by Mezzaluna (edited October 23, 2000).]

2. isa

isa

I've never made spaghetti for 60 people but I do have a good recipe for bolognese sauce should you ned one. I'll be happy to be of assistance for any help you need.

Sisi

3. shroomgirl

shroomgirl

Exp:
    Professional Caterer
    Easy breezy....Marinara, chopped tomatoes (canned ok get a good brand)
    Saute garlic and onions until wilted
    Add tomatoes cook 15-20 minutes med high
    add fresh basil s and p
    You can pre make and heat at the last minute