Want to start a garden but don't know how?

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by shawtycat, Feb 12, 2002.

1. shawtycat

shawtycat

Exp:
    Hey,

My new years resolution is to finally start a garden (no flowers) and stop procrastinating. I live in New Jersey about 1/2 hr from Manhattan and need help since I've never done this before. And although I once killed my mother's cactus, I actually think I can do this if I was told how to do it right.

What do I have to do first? How long do I have to wait before I can actually plant something?

PS

Who knew that you could "over water" a cactus? :D

2. cape chef

cape chef

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Dear shawnty,

First things first.
    Your soil must be right. organic matter, peat moss, compost, drainage.

Sunlight must be considered..or shade.

It is to early to plant anything outside where you live.
    Seedlings as well will mature way before the threat of the last frost looms.
    Be patient...wait a while.
    I can't wait until the time again comes to get my fingers in the soil.
    :)

3. mudbug

mudbug

Exp:
    Culinary Instructor
    Depends on how much you want to get into it.

The first thing is to figure out what you want to plant, vegetables, herbs, flowers, heirlooms, bulbs, etc. (as you said, no flowers - anything specific?)

Make a list. Find out what zone you live in.

Then find out what is hardy in your zone that you want to plant. You can do this here at the Plants Database and here at the Plants Selector.

You can start planting many things which are hardy for your zone outside right now! It's called Winter Sowing and it has a lot of benefits, check here for more information on how to winter sow you can even do this until March in the midwest!

Or, maybe you don't want to start from seed and just want to buy plants. Let me know and I can direct you to sources for whatever you're looking for.