victorinox Serrated with rounded end

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by nzw102, May 31, 2015.

1. nzw102

nzw102

Exp:
    Line Cook
    Does anybody have experience using this knife. In the kitchen I work in it seems to have saved thousands of dollars in knives due to the fact it's so multipurpose. My chef gave me my first one about a year ago and it has replaced all my shuns (probably 600$ in knives) and it's only limitation is cutting herbs. The knife itself cost 25$ but I've gotten. straighter cuts and the most beutiful dices using this knife than any chefs knife I ever used. The rounded end gives you the rocking motion of a chefs knife and the serrated edges cut through anything with precision.

I guess I'm just asking has this caught on in other kitchens? If not I really recommend this knife.

2. millionsknives

millionsknives

Exp:
    Professional Caterer
    Are you talking about a bread knife?

3. tombola84

tombola84

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    I think it's a victorinox pastry knife you are referring to

4. panini

panini

Exp:
    Owner/Operator
    [​IMG]

This bread knife?  I'm curious how you achieve a rocking motion as a french with that handle. Don't your knuckles hit the board?

5. nzw102

nzw102

Exp:
    Line Cook
    Yes that's the knife. There are no issues with knuckles hitting the board because the handle is raised up, it has a real similar feel that a chefs knife does when cutting. I've worked in 2 private clubs and these knifes seem to be everybody's favorite knife.

6. rick alan

rick alan

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    This doesn't answer your question, and this is not a direct reference to your preference for bread knives so no need to take offense on that account, but you just gave most of us here a huge chuckle.

The knife in Panini's picture does not have a raised/offset handle, nor would its rounded end contribute to a rocking motion, so this is confusing.