Chef Forum banner

Vac Sealer ?

4K views 5 replies 6 participants last post by  Dave_Bolder 
#1 ·
Can any one mention your favorite , Vacuum Sealer . I have a food saver , and don't like it ! The bags loose Vacuum soon after being done , often it does not seal the bags completely .

#3 ·
I've been using a Waring Pro Pistol vacuum system for a couple years now. Rather than bags that come in a roll that you cut and seal, it uses heavy duty zip-loc type bags that have a valve on the side. Put the food in the bag, zip it closed (they include a little tool to make this easier), put the pistol on the valve and pull the trigger. The bags say, "One use only", but I've reused many of them multiple times without a problem. Just wash them thoroughly and let them dry out. This is one of the advantages of this system. Unzip the bag to get things out, rezip and apply vacuum to secure it again.

The bags are reasonably sturdy but you do need to be careful not to knock them around or holes will develop and they won't hold vacuum. As long as the bags are intact and the zipper firmly and completely closed, they'll hold vacuum indefinitely. I've had some maintain vacuum for over a year and others I've re-used a dozen or more times. I like to keep brown sugar in one of these. I open it, take what I need, close and re-vacuum and it holds the seal, keeping the brown sugar soft, until the next time I need it. (I do keep the brown sugar in the original bag, putting that inside the vacuum bag.) The bags are available in quart, gallon, and two-gallon sizes. They are not cheap and the cost would frankly be prohibitive if not for the re-use.