Using others' recipes in restaurant

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by anewhope, May 22, 2018.

1. anewhope

anewhope

Exp:
    I'm new to the industry but had previously been cooking seriously at home for close to a decade. I recently began creating weekly specials for the restaurant where I work and am wondering if it's normal/encouraged/frowned upon to use recipes from cookbooks or blogs for pieces of dishes, especially sweets.

One dish I had seen a photo of and liked, so I used a crust recipe from a book and a filling from someplace else. Another was a dessert where the main component came from a blog, the sauce I got on Epicurious, and I flavored my own whipped cream. I feel confident in saying the dishes are mostly from my own head, but I didn't alter any recipes, only combined them.

Is this considered plagiarism? The question has wedged into my head and I've tried reading about the topic, but the discussion is often about reposting or republishing recipes as your own, which I don't plan to do.

For cooking, I believe it is a little more iffy (or at least monumentally lazy) if you lift something identically without any alteration or credit because it's so easy to customize with different techniques or flavorings. For baking, there are certain ratios or standard recipes that were doubtless adapted and copied already before you read it. Why mess with a recipe that already works for the sake of originality?

Looking forward to your thoughts.

2. kuan

kuan Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    Retired Chef
    No, because it is essentially a performance art with edible results, and there is an art to the act of doing it itself. When you follow a recipe your are doing what a violinist is doing, just solo, and you can eat the music.

redbeerd cantu likes this.
  3. jellly

jellly

Exp:
    Professional Pastry Chef