Usable material in case of lettuce!!! Help!

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by jpatburke, May 12, 2010.

1. jpatburke

jpatburke

Exp:
    At home cook
    My name is James and Im looking to start a sandwich shop. I am just putting together numbers now and building a biz plan but Ive hit a wall. I have a local distributor that sells cases or boxes of produce. Without buying and opening them how do I know what the usable yield will be? Below is a list of products. if anyone can give me an average that would be great!!!

Romaine lettuce

Baby Spinach

Cucumbers

Celery

Cherry Tomatoes

Alvacados

Cilantro

Lemons

Limes

I know all produce is not equal Im just trying to figure out basic costs.

Thanks

2. chefd65

chefd65

Exp:
    40+ years cooking around. I have been doing mostly catering and management for the last 20 years.
    You do not need to buy a case to figure the yield, but you do need to figure out the application of each item.

We buy romaine hearts, which come 12 bags of 6 ea. so we take 1 bag- and figure out how many sandwiches we can make (We use the trim for Caesar salad)- you can buy one bag at the market.

Baby Spinach comes in a 3# box, figure out how much you use and weigh it.

You see where this is going.

Things like avocados come in set sizes- the size indicates how many are in the box. You will have to decide if you are using 1/2 or 1/4 per sandwich- ....;

Your produce dealer is your friend.  Call and get the details of the products you want to buy.

I visited the warehouse before we set up the order and made decisions of size, and checked the case size.  I am guessing that unless you are making salsa, you will want to buy cilantro in smaller amounts than a case.

Good luck!

3. chefedb

chefedb

Exp:
    Retired Chef