Urgent Question On Portioning, Please Help

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by kaneohegirlinaz, Jun 15, 2011.

1. kaneohegirlinaz

kaneohegirlinaz

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    I am new to throwing cocktail parties, please help everyone.

I’m having 8 people over next Friday and I am serving heavy hor d’oeuvres. 

I plan to have:
    1. 5 different Italian meats  and 5 different cheeses
    2.  a cold antipasti platter of all the usual veggies
    3. a chaffing dish of mini meatballs in marinara sauce
    4. deep dish Pizza squares
    5.  rolled Stromboli, sliced
    6. Spinach and Fontina Fritatta squares
    7.  a tray of mini Cannolis with coffee
    Now, my urgent question is this:

How much of the meats do I buy?

I googled and the answer was 3 ounces for each person, is that really going to cut it?

At about $30 per pound, I don’t want too much waste.

And then what about the cheeses?  How much of those should I get?

2. kuan

kuan Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    Retired Chef
    That's way too much.  3oz TOTAL per person is more like it.

3. benway

benway

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    As a rule of thumb for hor d'oeuvres I've heard banquet chefs figure 2.5ea/person  You can move that down if you've got a lot of options or if you're ok with running out, etc.  I'd use that as a starting spot.

4. kaneohegirlinaz

kaneohegirlinaz

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    I should add on …  the guests will more than likely be staying long beyond dinner time … and my husband wants to insure that we have enough food …

5. kyheirloomer

kyheirloomer

Exp:
    Food Writer
    Let me first suggest that, even if you intend an Italian theme, that there are two many items that are samee-same. You might want to rethink your selections, and look at a broader taste variation. With 7 items you have unlimited choices. And, frankly, I think 7 choices of that nature are too many in the first place.