Upcoming interview for a job...

Joined Jan 26, 2004
Trying to keep it short....

I am a Biologist and I almost got a PhD in Molecular Biology but I decided that being a pastry chef was my calling in life. I found a great job in a small bistro, but after 5 months I quit because I didn't like my employer and they were paying me very little. I wrote to a really famous and accomplished pastry chef in my area and she wants to meet me for an interview.

My question is: Do I bring anything that I normally like to bake to the interview? This is what I did to my previous job and I got the position. Is it too pretentious? The pastry chef I am meeting has written few cookbooks and has received few awards so I am a basket case!

I really want this job so I am so nervous! :eek:

Any suggestions on what to say?

Thanks!

:chef:

Joined May 26, 2001
Sounds like you are on the verge of a great learning experience! I would not bring anything other than great enthusiasm, solid research on what she's done, and questions about her work. I'd expect she's looking at you as someone to assist her and to learn to do things HER way. This interview is more for her to see how you fit in with her style than for you to demonstrate your own personal style. If you are well prepared to answer her questions and to ask good questions of your own, you'll be fine. Relax. :D

But one word of warning: this might also be low-paying scut work. What you get out of it is a chance to learn, to get some more experience under your belt, to be able to tell future employers that you worked with her, and eventually to make use of her contacts for other work.