Unsure of my Next Step

Joined Apr 26, 2021
Hello all,
Let me first introduce myself by saying I have been working in the restaurant industry for 11 years. I am 28 years old.It is not until now that I am feeling that I have wasted a big chunk of time and have not successfully entrenched myself in a restaurant for longer than 2 years. I almost feel as if I keep joining a restaurant as ( sous chef, head cook , cook) and for one reason or another I end up quitting within a year or so.

I have feelings of shame and guilt that my resume is not filled with being in a restaurant for longer than a year and a half. I have taken a hard look at myself and want to change that moving forward in my thirties . I feel as thought I have passed many opportunities by rage quitting , or thinking I could find a better place. By better opportunities I mean high end fine dining restaurants, where I was getting paid the highest my whole career.

This introspection was only verified by going to about 7 interviews for a sous chef position. ( have only been jr sous before) and not hearing back from them. One of them telling me they can't trust me because of my resume.

My ideal place of work would be souschef a higher end french or Italian fine dining restaurant in my city. I am at cross roads, and do not know whether to join a high-end restaurant as a cook again. Or take an opportunity to be a head chef at a Greek restaurant. I know I would have to stay at this place for 3 + years, but I have fear that this being a "greek " restaurant will hinder my job opportunities in the future. ( me wanting to work for French/italian bistro steakhouse ) .

Any words of wisdom, support , or encouragement are welcomed.

..from cook to chef

Joined Mar 1, 2017
First, welcome to CT. :)

Second, the only way to remedy your problem is with time. Stay in one place. Figure out those issues about yourself that have compelled you to move so frequently from one place to another and work on them.