Uggh. Mashed Potato Bar?

Discussion in 'Professional Catering' started by baycook, Jul 16, 2018.

1. baycook

baycook

Exp:
    Other
    Hi all--

I'm working up an estimate for a wedding reception for March 2019. This is for a friend's daughter's wedding. I am a private chef/food writer/recipe developer with a restaurant and catering background. No commercial kitchen at present. Venue has a kitchen with some commercial aspects, but nothing to write home about. We are in the Deep Coastal South. I want to be fair to all of us, family can afford whatever, Father of the Bride (FoB) may or may not try to shake the price down a bit, if only on principal. The estimate I can do. That's not my problem.

Mom of Bride wants nice traditional reception fare: thin-sliced beef tenderloin with yeast rolls and two or three sauces, marinated shrimp, baked brie en croute, very fancy vegetable tray, good cheese somethings, etc, etc ... Easy and good. Daughter wants all that plus oysters--raw and grilled-AND a mashed potato bar. I can price that.

The problem is that I hate the idea of the mashed potato bar. I feel like this is food poisoning waiting to happen. I know how to make that not happen in a perfect world in theory, but I don't want to rent Cambros and still have to worry.

So I want to tell them no mashed pots. That may or may not work. (Friends, remember?) What would you offer instead?

Thanks!
    BayCook

2. Pat Pat

Pat Pat

Exp:
    Chef Emeritus
    I think you're more likely to get food poisoning from oysters than from mashed potatoes.

sgsvirgil and Iceman like this.
  3. chefwriter

chefwriter

Exp:
    Professional Cook
    I agree with Pat. Mashed potato bar should be easy enough. All toppings held separately. Only mashed needs to be kept hot and not for that long if the venue has a kitchen.

4. baycook

baycook

Exp:
    Other