Tvp

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by shimmer, Aug 7, 2002.

1. shimmer

shimmer

As a new vegetarian, I have been exploring new meat alternatives with reckless abandon. I cooked a wonderful meal of sweet and sour tofu with sesame green beans.

Then I was reading about TVP, and thought wow, a hamburger substitute, that would be nice.

Ahem. I should have had a clue when one website I found recipes on was a site full or recipes on how to cook during times of emergency rations.

My husband usually eats everything I make, he says I am a good cook. I made TVP "sloppy joes". I added probably twice the seasoning as the recipe called for.

No matter what I did, it still vaguely resembled oatmeal with ketchup. Every spice was absorbed but then never tasted again, even the salt.

Yikes. Has anyone had satisfactory results with TVP, or am I just an optimist? I've used the Morningstar Farms hamburger substitute, and its good, but they use GMOs. I can find TVP that is non-GMO.

Please let me know of possibilities for success!

~~Shimmer~~:confused:

2. phatch

phatch Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    TVP can be good and bad. Getting good material to start with is critical. Choosing the right dishes is the second trick IMHO. I've also had better results in some dishes with commercial seitan and frozen firm tofu. They can be fairly interchangeable as they are all mainly texture substitutes, not flavor subs.

I don't know how strict a vegetarian you want to be. Most TVP has been saturated with meat extractives for flavor so watch your labels. These also tend to be very high salt.

If you're still tolerant of meat to a degree, you need to rely on quality bases to add the meat flavor or even use some real stuff too, just lots less.