Turning a house into a food manufacturing establishment

Discussion in 'Professional Pastry Chefs' started by macbaker2011, Apr 13, 2019.

1. macbaker2011

macbaker2011

Exp:
    7 years pastry chef
    Hi all! I'm new here. I am a pastry chef and have been making French macarons in a rented commercial kitchen for over 7 years now. I am looking to turn a house we don't live in into a food manufacturing establishment or production kitchen. The house has been empty for about 3 years, empty as in we don't live there, but there are appliances in the kitchen, and furniture, etc. We are still paying public utilities for it, and everything else like trash collection, and we still receive mails in it that aren't important. It's our primary resident (Delaware) in paper, but we live about 40 minutes away in another state (Maryland) because it's where my husband and I prefer to live.

Currently, we are unsure of what to do with the house. We are not in a hurry to sell it, because it needs some upgrades and we haven't found a reliable contractor to do the job. So now, I am thinking of possibly getting a certification from gods that be, to turn it into a commercial kitchen.

Has any of you done anything like this? I would like to hear your experience. Thanks!

2. halb

halb

Exp:
    Owner/Operator
    Sure it can be done if the location is zoned for a commercial business. If not you are out of luck.

3. sgsvirgil

sgsvirgil

Exp:
    Retired Owner/Operator
    You can always try to petition for a variance that would otherwise allow a commercial operation to exist in an area zoned for residential use. Its a bit of an uphill battle, but, not impossible. You will definitely need the assistance of an attorney who specializes in this type of law who can tell you if such a thing is even possible.