Turkey and ham for catering

Discussion in 'Professional Catering' started by cchean, Jun 15, 2019 at 2:10 AM.

1. cchean

cchean

Exp:
    Cook
    So, I have this wedding event that I am catering for, head count about 50ppl, offered the client several options and she wants ham and turkey served as main proteins. The event site does not have a full kitchen, meaning it does not have an oven or cooktop. I am relatively new to this, but I do have lots of culinary experience. Here's what I have in mind:

Ham: it will be purchased bone-in, carved prior to the event(there won't be any carving stations at the event) and placed in hotel pans. Warmed prior to serving and then placed on chafing over sternos to keep it warm, a glaze or sauce will be made and poured on top or served on the side.

Turkey: brine, roasted and carved the day before, it will be reheated on the day of the event, my concern is that it might get dry.

Any suggestions?

2. cheflayne

cheflayne

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    I would think that is valid concern if using a reheat method for pre-carved meat. I would cook the turkey and ham the day of the event, Carve while warm, into hotel pans, into cambros, transport to event.

3. cchean

cchean

Exp:
    Cook
    Thanks for replying. Do you know how long would the cambros hold temp? The event place does not have an oven.

4. cheflayne

cheflayne

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    at least 4 hours

5. Innocuous Lemon

Innocuous Lemon

Exp:
    fair bit
    would second this. But also like to point out that you ought to be careful with brining turkeys, the large majority of commercial turkeys are already injected with a brine solution, and double-brining is gonna spoil it.

would also suggest spatchcocking the turkey to roast, if you arent using a rational.

6. chefbillyb

chefbillyb

Exp:
    Professional Chef