trying to make a name

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by culinary merc, Dec 13, 2005.

1. culinary merc

culinary merc

im finding it very hard to put my name out there so people from all over want to eat my food. most contests are donr before i get to enter them. i do really cool things with sugar.any help

2. danbrown

danbrown

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    My advice to you is to study what the people who've already accomplished what you're trying to do have done. If you want to get press, put together a press packet, get and agent, and actively pursue that goal. If you goal is to build a reputation that will preceed you, my advice is to get back to work, and make sure you're never settling for less that your best. I just got press today in the Rocky Mountain News (first time in a Denver daily newspaper). I've been a cook in Colorado for 24 years. You must build a reputation that's worth noticing, and that takes time.

BTW- The "celebrity chef" thing is a friggin pipe dream, if that's what you think reality is, turn off FoodTV!!

3. shroomgirl

shroomgirl

Exp:
    Professional Caterer
    Merc,
    Print, radio and television are all looking for filler/info. I'm moving into a new space so I'm holding an open house for friends/clients/media/other caterers.

I'll send out press releases to print media....have a photo ready and info on my business ***INCLUDING contact info***
    Check out professional groups in your area, which ones fit your niche.....I belong to a mycological society, prof culinary society, event planners and have considered several other groups but on the whole they don't provide the contacts or bang for my dues buck. Whichever group you join be an active member.....volunteer to hold a program at your space, have info about what you do in a brochure, have a website.....the first two are cheap the third you can get with bartering/trade.