Trying not to slap my fellow students.

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by sandsquid, Dec 23, 2013.

1. sandsquid

sandsquid

Exp:
    Professional Baker
    By way of introduction, I'm 45 years old and spent 6 years cooking professionally back in the late 80's and early 90's.  A couple of restaurants in CT and then moved down to Naples, FL, cooking at a few noted establishments and then bar-tending, and then becoming a sommelier and  briefly running my own "micro"  catering Co. "Rent-A-Chef" in Naples, FL.  Met my wife, went into high-tech/customer service then a brief career in law enforcement and then 7 years on recall from the reserves to active duty for OIF/OEF/OND. So ,I have a LOT of miles and experience.  Since returning home the last time, finding lasting employment has been really rough, and it was my wife who said, "use your GI Bill and go back to Culinary School", I thought she was crazy to even suggest it, but she countered with, "in the 25 years I've known you, you have wanted to go back, it is where you heart is so just do it".

​So now I'm enrolled in a fairly well respected local culinary school in the extended program, 3/4 of the students will graduate out in about a year with a Culinary Cert. and the rest of use will go on with an AA in Culinary Arts and Restaurant Management....  That is if I make it that long.

The school I'd rate "fair to good" with the caveat that  you are going to get out of it what you put into it.  And I realize I have 30 years of bad habits to break, so I'm really trying to keep my mouth shut in class and follow the program; "Yes, Chef!".