Trial in a 5-Star Hotel

Joined May 31, 2017
Hello,

I'm going for a trial in a 5-Star hotel for the position of Commis Chef. I feel I might be under qualified for the job. I have a couple of years cheffing experience but not at that standard. Would anyone have any tips for the trial, I have looked at the menus and read the website of the Hotel.

Joined Mar 1, 2017
Hi and welcome to CT. :)

Here are some tips. They are not all inclusive as Im sure there's going to be some good advice others in this forum will offer. But, start with these.

- Show up on time. By "on time", I mean 10 - 15 minutes early.
- Wear proper clothing. Nothing loose. Nothing that dangles. No rings on your fingers. No watches. No bracelets. No dangling earrings. Wear comfortable, no slip shoes. Try and find out what the kitchen staff wears and go with that.
- Turn off that cell phone. In fact, lock it in the glove box of your car.
- Make sure you hair, hands and nails are neat. If you have long hair, wear it up, off your collar and out of your face. Make sure your nails are clean and well trimmed.
- If you are a man and have facial hair, I would recommend shaving it. You can always grow it back after you get hired. If not, make sure your beard is neat and trim. If you're doing the Grizzly Adams thing, that may work against you.
- Bring a pencil and something to write on. Write everything down.
- Memorize the menu and familiarize yourself with the ingredients in the dishes.
- Asking questions is always a good thing, but, listening is how you learn. Don't be a chatty Kathy.
- Be prepared to answer questions about your work experience. Don't BS because that BS will be figured out within 5 minutes of your first shift or trial period.
- Don't be surprised if they ask you to work a dinner service to see what you can do.