Trial coming up and I've zero experience

Discussion in 'Jobs / Internships Postings' started by thatirishguy, Nov 15, 2016.

1. thatirishguy

thatirishguy

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    I've a trial next week in probably the best restaurant in my county and I've never worked in a professional kitchen or taken a culinary course but the head chef is giving me a chance and I want to know what I should expect, doors are open to customers only 4-5 hours.
    I'm pretty nervous he'll ask me to cook something and I'll mess up and be out the door lol.
    I can cook but as he said, cooking at home is completely different to cooking in a restaurant.

flipflopgirl likes this.
  2. rpooley

rpooley

Exp:
    Home Cook
    I also have not been to school and do not have a lot of experience but am pretty well self-taught.  I got to work with a couple of big chefs (Michelin-starred) at a private event for 12.  When one guy realized what my experience/training was he said "just don't tell me you can do something if you can't".  I just did whatever work they gave me, checked in when I began a task to make sure I didn't finish the whole thing incorrectly, kept busy cleaning, looked for anything to help with, etc.   Worked out great and one of the guys asked me to another event a few weeks later.   /img/vbsmilies/smilies/biggrin.gif  

millionsknives likes this.
  3. jake t buds

jake t buds

Exp:
    Other
    Bring at least a chef's knife, paring knife, a peeler, a black sharpie, a small notebook, and steel. Ask them about a dress code. Black pants and black shoes are pretty standard here in NYC. 

Ask lots of questions if they allow you to, do exactly as you are told, and I agree with rpooley, if you don't know how to do something, tell them. Watch how other people interact and do their job. Get "kitchen sense" right away. That means know where everybody is around you at all times.