Thinking about enrolling in culinary school.

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by IoannisII, Jan 28, 2018.

1. IoannisII

IoannisII

Exp:
    Non
    I am thinking about enrolling in culinary school next year.I am 18 years old and I have been cooking for fun for the last 2 years.The only thing that I don't like is that I read a bunch of articles about ho chefs works extremely wrong hours ,they cant easily have a social or personal life etc.Is the industry actually like that or could I hope to be a chef and still have a balanced life outside the kitchen?
    Thank you.

Topazy likes this.
  2. jimyra

jimyra

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Welcome to Cheftalk. If working long hours, weekends, holidays, and very demanding tasks bothers you this may not be the profession for you. Did I mention for low pay. Many chefs however love the job and have a very successful balanced life outside the kitchen. There are jobs that are fewer hours. Many of the chains have limited hours. I would suggest getting a part time job in a commercial kitchen and get an inside look. Good luck, with any profession the more education you have the better off you will be.

Topazy likes this.
  3. cheflayne

cheflayne

Exp:
    Professional Chef