Thinking about becoming a chef

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by Wholebeach, Apr 22, 2019.

1. Wholebeach

Wholebeach

Exp:
    Beginner
    Hello all,

I'm about to finish university and I've decided that, right now, I don't want to get a job related to my degree. I'm studying wildlife conservation, and whilst I do care about the subject, the only real draw to a job in that field would be to work outdoors in cool environments. But I think I want to do something that requires more skill, something that I can excel at if I put in the time.

I have been seriously considering learning how to cook. Over the last year or two, I have become naturally interested in cooking. I get satisfaction out of making good food, and, more recently, the idea of making food to a higher standard excites me. I enjoy the thought of learning traditional recipes from different cuisines and even travelling to learn first hand. As an end goal, I don't want to be a head chef in a Restaurant unless it's my own. I know that is a LONG way off, but I'm serious about the idea.

I have some concerns though. I haven't worked in a kitchen before so I don't know if I will enjoy the environment once I'm there. Also, I don't think I'd be satisfied starting as a dishwasher. Does anyone actually advance beyond a dishwasher to a position where you actually learn how to cook?

Also, I don't have the cash for culinary school. Nor do I want to be in education any longer unless I have no other choice.

Any advice on what direction I should take? I was thinking about going to places in my city and asking if they need any kitchen assistants. But I really want to learn how to cook right away and get some experience behind me. Maybe an apprenticeship is the way to go?

Does anyone have any advice? or any input at all?

Thanks

2. cheflayne

cheflayne

Exp:
    Professional Chef