Chef Forum banner

Thinking about applying at two upscale restaraunts

3K views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  retiredbaker 
#1 ·
Just looking for advice on how to get hired. I have done restaurant work before. I would love to be able to be competent enough to keep my job at one of these upscale places.

I will post links to the menus.

I am a struggling anthropology student who wonders about studying Caribbean things. Religion folklore music politics econo.ics and literature. I also dream of cooking upscale things and international things. I own hakka chinese, Austrian, Czechoslovakia, persian, iraqi,west african, schizuan, greek, trinidadian, haitian, jamaican, guyanese, somalian,colombian, etc cookbooks. I obsess over thousand dollar Spanish ham legs, would people buy that in a restaurant. I dream of French fries and rhubarb raspberry pies cooked with duck fat etc. I'm an upscale gourmand but live below the poverty level.

How should I approach this. One day wanna learn to cook Austrian pastries too.

#5 ·
This industry has enough burned out, disgruntled, disenfranchised forty somethings who are too old to start a new career and too young to retire. The average career in the food service business lasts 18 months. Being passionate about food is only a start. Its a good start. But, its not enough.

Stay in school. Finish your degree. Who knows? Maybe you will find a way to combine your Anthropology education with cooking and come up with some new paleo type bistro and be the next billionaire celebrity chef. But more importantly, if you decide when you are 39 that you've had enough of the food service business, you can at least get another job.

Good luck. :)

#6 ·
This industry has enough burned out, disgruntled, disenfranchised forty somethings who are too old to start a new career and too young to retire. The average career in the food service business lasts 18 months. Being passionate about food is only a start. Its a good start. But, its not enough.