The Bread Bible?

Joined Oct 28, 1999
Rose Levy Berenbaum (of The Cake Bible fame) has released The Bread Bible. I was wondering if anybody has any insight.
Thanks!

Joined Nov 19, 2003
Hi: I am a bread baker and was excited to receive her latest book, but am now quite disappointed. A number of different recipes have been total failures, especially the Austrian bread. I am glad I tried these at home prior to making them for any customers! Anyone else have problems?

Joined Oct 28, 1999
Thanks for your feedback! You are the first that has mentioned reading the latest from Berenbaum. Curious to see if others have shared the same experience as you.

Joined Dec 18, 2003
Breadhead, what is your favorite bread book, in terms of recipes moreso than technique? The only book I have is the Bread Bakers Apprentice.

Joined Nov 19, 2003
Favorites(including Bread Baker's Apprentice) are Amy's Bread;Artisan Baking; and any of Beth Hensperger's books are quite good especially for beginning bakers and those wanting to expand not only their own repetroir but expand on her recipes.

Joined May 2, 2004
I tried one of the ryes. I actually don't care for rye but DH loves it; the BBA NY deli rye is much better, in his opinion.

Joined Aug 14, 2000
One of my favorite rye recipes is Izzy's New York Rye, from Nancy Silverton's Breads from the La Brea Bakery. I'm not a fan of most of her techniques but the recipes in this book are good. For technique, you can't do a lot better than Bread Baker's Apprentice. Another great bread book is Artisan Baking Across America by Maggie Glezer.

Joined May 16, 2004