Tender for toothless

Joined Sep 12, 2002
O.K. I'm not a pro, but have always had a passion for cooking, and am always curious about how and why...so thank you for this site.

My particular problem is this: My wife now has false teeth and has trouble chewing tough meats. Among many of her favorite dishes is Beef and Broccoli which we sometimes get from Chinese-American restaurants. These thin slices of beef usually are so tender that she has no problem eating them.

My question is what cuts of beef can I use to make this at home (I have tried sirloin) and what process to tenderize them. As for meat tenderizer (like adolfs) does it take effect in a marinade, or does it activate only when heated? If the latter, then the meat (in thin slices) becomes overcooked, and I'm also trying to avoid that gummy texture. ANY SUGGESTIONS?:confused:

kuan

Staff member
Joined Jun 11, 2001
Cut a piece off and whack it thin with flat side of a cleaver. You can also use filet, but it's sort of a waste :)

Kuan

Joined Dec 15, 1999
Chemical tendrizesers tend to mush the outside of cuts without even impressing the inside. What the chinese use for marinating is a combination of cornstarch and egg white. Yogurt is a good subtitue.
Also always use dry aged meat, cut it against the grain and whack it.

Joined Mar 3, 2002
And if all else fails, bit the bullet and buy some filet. The tail of the filet, the section used in Stroganoff and cut up in a similar fashion, can often be had for less money than the end used for chateaubriand and filet mignon.

Also, you might take your cooking skills and imagination to make some wonderful braises and stews that are melt in your mouth delicious. Oxtail and shin are gelatinous cuts that with proper cooking become meltingly tender. Chuck and brisket while not as gelatinous can, braised slowly, also become quite tender.

Joined May 26, 2001