tell me about roast chicken...

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by ladyhazy, Apr 26, 2006.

1. ladyhazy

ladyhazy

Exp:
    At home cook
    Well... pretty much apparently, I joined this forum in my desperation. I'm a college student in a course that requires us to take nutrition classes. And that means cooking... yes it does.

I just wanted to ask if it's possible to roast a chicken in an hour.
    If it is, that's really great! I've never roast a chicken before and we have a time limit (and i think we'll need about an hour because we have to prepare it for some time).

The recipes i've found require it to cook for about two hours. PLEASE help me here... :cry:

2. suzanne

suzanne

Exp:
    Food Editor
    Welcome to the wonderful world of cooking!! :D Once you learn how, you'll never want to give it up.

Seriously: yes, you can roast a chicken in an hour. The key is to get as smallish one, maybe about 3 pounds. You also need an oven, a pan or baking dish to roast the chicken in, and a wire rack that fits in the pan.

If the chicken comes wrapped in plastic, take off the wrapping, and reach in and pull out the little bag of giblets inside the cavity. (You can throw them away if they scare you. :p )

Take a bunch of paper towels and dry the chicken thoroughly, inside and out. For the inside, just wad up a bunch and shove them in; don't forget to pull them out again, since they don't taste good cooked.

Sprinkle a little salt inside and all over the outside. You don't have to use a lot of salt, and table salt is okay. But don't skip the salt; it really helps the flavor.