Technical Questions for R&D Chef Interviews

Joined Feb 12, 2018
Hello Everyone,

I am not sure if this is the proper area to post this thread but I am looking for help in understanding some technical questions that a company should ask when hiring an R&D Chef/Food Scientist and the reason why those questions are important.

We are expanding our current raw commodity business (Almonds) and moving into flavored products and now need an R&D chef. The chef is primarily in charge of coming up with new variants and flavors whether sweet or savory and the ingredients and process for doing this. The products will be packaged.For this role I do not have the technical background to ask good enough questions for assessing technical skills.

It would be of great help If I could get some ideas for Technical questions so that I can screen candidates as best as possible. Thank you

Joined Sep 26, 2017
I'm not sure what kind of scale you're talking about, but I worked as an R&D chef before.

At the place I worked at, the R&D department have many workers, each with different jobs.

As a chef, all I did was coming up with new items and testing them (cooking, tasting); meanwhile, another worker was recording the ingredients and steps.

Once I was satisfied. I sent the new item to a tasting panel. Once the testers approved, another worker begun costing the item and adjusting the ingredients and steps to fit within budget, while still retaining the taste and concept of what I created.

Once that's done, yet another worker wrote up the manufacturing procedures, keeping in mind the equipment available in the manufacturing plant. This worker then visit the plant and showed the workers there what to do.

At the same time, a separate department handled the lab work concerning the shelf life, nutrition, and such.

The first batch of the product got back to me and the tasting panel, and if we're happy, the marketing department would take over and handle the rest.