Table turnover question

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by mezzaluna, Mar 6, 2006.

1. mezzaluna

mezzaluna

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    As a home cook I'm sort of breaking a rule here by posting in this forum, but I'm on a mission for friends who own a restaurant. While baking cookies for an approaching holiday, she and I got to talking about the deck they're planning to open at their place when the weather warms up. She and her husband (co-owners; he's also a chef) are building a very nice clientele since they opened early last summer. Good press reviews are bringing in the diners and drinkers. Here's the situation:

Their place http://www.kahunasonline.com/ is located on a lake just west of Milwaukee, with a view of the water across the street. It's a unique concept in the area. The dining area seats about 70, with another 35 or so in the bar area. The deck will open this spring and will seat 40-48 patrons (all their tables are 4-tops I believe). They have a lot of success with their apps and drink menus. Weekend nights are BUSY, and they've been able to turn over the tables in the dining room three times per night. What they're worried about is that when the deck opens (it will be under an awning, I believe), they worry they'll have people park themselves on the deck, order one drink and a plate of apps, and stay there all afternoon or evening while the patrons line up in the waiting area.

They're beginning to get swamped on Saturday nights in their dining room, but so far it's only been an occasional problem. How can they keep the tables turning over without chasing people away? Any suggestions?

Thanks,
    Mezzaluna

2. kuan

kuan Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    Retired Chef
    You can post anywhere you want! :)

First they need to do an analysis of how much each seat generates in revenue, then they need to decide if it's a positive or negative thing. Then plan for growth.