Switching egg whites for whole eggs

Joined Mar 29, 2003
Warning: In the two-camp world of food, I am a cook, not a baker, so forgive anything about my description that sounds naive!

I made a white chocolate pound cake recipe last week that was golden yellow. It was good, but visually I think the cake would be more appealing were it truly the color of white chocolate. For two loaves, the ingredients were 5 cups flour, 3/4 lb white chocolate, 3/4 c water, 1 tsp baking soda, 7 eggs, 1 tsp vanilla, 3 c sugar, 1 cup butter, 1/4 tsp salt. I know I can get closer to the look I want by substituting egg whites and baking powder for whole eggs and baking soda, but obviously the amounts wouldn't be the same. Instinctively I'd think using not quite twice as much egg--say 12 whites for 7 whole eggs, and using a teaspoon and a half or two of baking powder would be about the right substitution rates, but I'm not positive. Nor am I not sure that adding something else wouldn't be warranted.

Any advice, suggestions?

Joined Oct 6, 2001
Welcome to ChefTalk BeachBaby!

I have one guest that is allergic to yolks but adores pound cake -- so it became my mission to please him! I didn't like the consistency of pound cake made solely with egg whites, but I do like it made with Yoplait's French Vanilla Custard style yogurt used in place of the yolks. The richness, body and moisture are still there.

...and it's requested everytime he visits...

Let us know how your experiments turn out-

FWIW...

lynne:)

Joined Mar 4, 2000
Maybe you can leave a few yolks in there, and omit some as well. You'll keep some of the fat, but lose a bit of the yellow. You can also substitute some cake flour for half of the all purpose. It's whiter. The yogurt is a good idea too! But in that case, keep some of the soda. Good luck.

Joined Mar 29, 2003